RSS Feed

Summer Camp DIY

Posted on

So, in the past, I’ve had an occasional summer habit of getting semi-obsessed with some new Craft.  I’d be wandering in a store and see a kids’ craft kit that introduced you to something, or I’d be looking for a way to use up or upcycle some kind of Life Detritus, and come across some kind of Thing To Do With It – and then I’d be buying up all kinds of supplies and churning mass quantities of the stuff with an eye to giving things away as Christmas gifts.  However, after a few months my enthusiasm would peter out a bit, I’d look at my creations and set aside half for being a little too ugly or weird to give away, and I’d give away some of the good ones but still have a ton left over, and not really know what to do with the rest of the supplies and end up puttting those out on the curb.

Some of these crafts have worked a little better than others; The Summer Of Soap kind of came and went, and The Summer Of Glass Painting is probably best left unremembered, but The Summer Of Liqueur and The Summer of Jam went over really well.  Both are still things I dip my toe into now and again, along with The Summer Of Knitting.

As I mentioned earlier, though, we are shaping up for this being The Summer Of Sewing, thanks to Niki’s loan of a sewing machine.  And I’m trying to make this a finite pursuit by sticking solely to using up some fabric salvaged from old worn out clothes, supplemented by a yard or two from a cheap fabric store and some scraps from ebay; I splurged on some precut strips of things from quilt shops after watching an idiot-proof technique for laying them out and using them, and I also saw someone had a big pile of scraps from old 1930s feed sacks, and have always been charmed by feed sack fabric and got those as well.  But most of the fabric is coming from a collection of jeans and khaki pants; my pants all have the frustrating tendency to wear holes right in the crotch gusset, so there’s a point by which I can’t wear them any more even though the rest of the fabric is perfectly fine.

Let’s just pause a moment so I can give you a big and salient fact, though – I kind of can’t sew.  I tried some simple sewing in Girl Scouts, but had to use felt since it wouldn’t fray; and as a freshman in drama school I was assigned to an internship in the department’s costume shop, but I jammed two sewing machines on my first day and the manager just gave me a blanket pass to skip the internship after that.

But I’ve seen some really simple cushion cover patterns, and watched a million tutorials on Youtube, and I think I can put them together.  Cushion covers are small and don’t involved curves, mostly, and if you make them envelope style then you don’t even need to worry about zippers or buttons or stuff.  And Niki sat with me for a while and showed me how the sewing machine worked, and it seemed easy enough, especially sewing in a straight line.  Which is all I intend to do, is sew in straight lines.

And thus I’m going to mostly be making some cushion covers for the bedroom, and turning some old pajamas into drawstring bags that I’ll use when I travel; one of them had a print of high-heeled pumps on them that was just begging to be turned into shoe bags.  (Please note: I have never worn high-heeled shoes in my life. But this was still one of the most comfortable garments I’ve ever worn – if you are trying on pajamas and your very first instinct upon donning them is to lie right down on the floor of the dressing room and take a nap, you get those pajamas.  They could have had a print of flaming roadkill and I’d still have bought them.)

The Mount Everest, though, is going to be a patchwork quilt made of those old jeans.  Mind you, I’ll be sticking to straight lines, simple patches, no batting, just turning jean patches into a quilt top and stitching it onto the backing and calling it good.  I am a bit uneasy, thinking of the old college mishaps, but that “what the hell, I’ll try this” instinct that drove me to try glass painting and soapmaking and such is the louder voice.  If nothing else, I will learn that No, Really, I Should Not Sew.

Leave a Reply

