RSS Feed

Movie Crash Course: Extra Credit Syllabus

This isn’t really part of my official “movie crash course” program, but it’s another personal movie habit; I try to make sure I’ve seen all of the Best Picture nominees by the time the Academy Awards are given out each year.

I will admit, though, that it was a hell of a lot easier to do that when there were only five nominees.  There always seem to be a couple films that sneak onto the list now that I really don’t want to see, and some years it’s only the sense of completion that drives me to see them; there have been years when even that wasn’t enough to make me want to see something and I threw up my hands and said “oh well, I’ll just not see them all this year then.” (I’m looking at you, American Sniper.)

And let’s face it – movie tickets these days are expensive, yo.

So here are this year’s crop:

  • Arrival
  • Fences
  • Hacksaw Ridge
  • Hell or High Water
  • Hidden Figures
  • La La Land
  • Lion
  • Manchester by the Sea
  • Moonlight

I’ve gotten a couple under my belt already. My parents and I saw Manchester By The Sea the day after Christmas; seeing that film in a tiny theater in a tiny Cape Cod movie house was a whole other level of realism.  I was in an even smaller theater for Hidden Figures, where I was one of only five people in the audience at the 9 pm showing on a Saturday night in Saugerties Village.  I’ve been meaning to see Arrival and Moonlight anyway….and I confess that I just had to look up Hell or High Water.

Leave a Reply

