RSS Feed

August Break 8 – Taste

Posted on

IMG_2119

Okay, so it’s like this.  Today’s prompt was “my favorite taste,” and there is simply no way in hell I’m going to be able to narrow that kind of thing down.  I am very food-oriented – thanks to being blessed with a mother who was a fantastic cook, an unfussy palate as a child, a comfort with cooking for myself (don’t discount that, folks) a lack of any serious food allergies, and – in my teens and 20’s – the metabolism of a lab rat on meth.  I spent my formative years learning to taste everything, liking what I tasted, and being able to eat seconds or thirds of whatever I liked without any impact on my health or waistline.

And not just sweets either – my mother was cooking things in the 70s the way that food experts recommended everyone cook today, with vegetables crisp-tender, fresh and simple; low salt, easy on the sauces, easy on the red meat, dishes sauteed or grilled instead of deep-fried.  This let me discover, as a child, that vegetables have a natural sweetness to them that gets cooked out if you cook them too long.  I would shun salad dressing as a child – I often still do – and everyone thought that was just a weird affectation. But I just didn’t want the natural taste of the vegetables to be covered up by what was often overly-seasoned gludge.

My metabolism caught up with me in my 30s, but I still have a broad palate – I’ve just had to expand it to a little more vegetables than I used to.  And cooking myself is also something I do often, even when it’s just me and I end up with a lot of leftovers.  In fact, that’s usually what makes my lunches for work is some kind of random tail-end of a stew paired with a leftover splash of a soup, or some leftover salad paired with a little cup of a leftover chilled soup and a roll.  The cookbook I recommend to people most often uses that very formula – soup paired with salad – as its entire theme.  If I want something more substantial for dinner, I usually do something simple like roast a single chicken leg.

Today’s lunch actually features a bit of leftover takeout pad thai that I got this weekend; I’d had some kind of weird bug on Saturday and ordered it to spare myself cooking, but then when it got here I couldn’t even eat it.  So I saved it for future lunches, making up a couple salads to go with it and stretch it a bit – a zucchini and carrot salad with a subtly spicy dressing, and a simple pickle of thinly-sliced cucumbers in vinegar and sugar and that’s it.  My CSA basket this week included some tiny apples that fit perfectly in my lunchbox, so that made for a dessert.

Everyone at work comments on that lunchbox, by the way; it’s a bento-style thing I picked up to simplify lunch packing.  I read somewhere that bento menus try to include equal amounts of protein, carbs, and vegetables or fruits; with little compartments for everything like this, it’s a lot easier to pack lunch in the morning (“leftover chicken wings in cup 1….roll in cup 2….check”).  I also deliberately picked something in that red and black color because at the time I thought it looked like Japanese laquerware. (Well, it sort of does.  The color anyway.  Stop laughing.)

That teapot lives at work.  I don’t use it every day – only on days when I need something a bit beyond the offerings of the Keurig-clone behemoth in the office pantry, a thing that always reminds me of the “Nutrimatic Drinks Dispenser” from Douglas Adams’ Hitchhikers’ Guide To The Galaxy.  The Nutrimatic is a beverage dispenser on board a spaceship, of which Adams wrote that it put forth a drink that was “almost, but not quite, entirely unlike tea.”

But that’s getting into my least favorite taste.

Leave a Reply

