RSS Feed

Because There Are People Starving….

So I’ve been thinking I need to get organized cooking-wise.

I have an entire bookshelf entirely devoted to cookbooks.  I belong to a very active CSA, and just brought home 2 pounds each of carrots, beets, potatoes and onions – among other things – in my latest box today.  I am skilled in the kitchen, I have a full batterie de cuisine, and I just came back from Paris where I became the proud owner of an actual pair of herb scissors.

And yet when it comes to mealtime, when I get home from work and am hungry and looking at everything, my brain goes into total vapor lock and I don’t know what to do.  And that doesn’t make any sense at all.

It’s the kind of thing I really, really think I need to do.  Especially since “use your kitchen more for God’s sake” is one of my New Year’s Resolutions, along with “use some of the shit you have”.  This weekend is going to be devoted to a bit of pantry-clearing and kitchen work, since my roommate is going to be safely out of the apartment for the bulk of each day and since I’m going to be going on yet more cookware splurging as a result of a gift card for Christmas.  Surely, if I make a bunch of stocks and grate up some carrots and roast and dice some beets or something, I’ll be able to throw things together without thinking at night, right?

We’ll see about that.

Leave a Reply

