RSS Feed

Neighborhoods New York – Just A Taste: Upper East Side

This is not the official post for the Upper East Side. It can’t be.  But it absolutely should be recorded.

I had occasion to visit the Upper East Side for work today, twice, at two different times of day – once first thing in the morning, and once in the mid-afternoon.  And on both trips, I saw women pushing dogs in strollers.  And I don’t just mean baby strollers repurposed for dogs, either – these were strollers designed for dogs.

My first trip, it was a bulldog panting as it lolled in an open-air stroller, as “mom” pushed it with one hand and checked an iPhone with the other; the pouch attached to the handles bore water bottles and the handle of a pooper scooper.  And this afternoon I don’t even know what it was – all I saw was the “Pet Gear” label on the side of a soft-sided grocery-cart type of thing, and I saw a pair of pointy ears through the mesh window on the side.  “Mom” this was a thin blond dressed entirely in black leather, purposefully pushing her charge down the street towards Central Park.

There is no doubt more to the Upper East Side than this. But two specially-designed doggie strollers in a single day on the same block is either a sign, or a freaky trend.

One response »

  1. Wow that was strange. I just wrote an really long comment but
    after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr…
    well I’m not writing all that over again. Regardless,
    just wanted to say great blog!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

